- Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™ - http://www.5dollardinners.com -

Slow Cooker Honey Ham and Bean Soup

Posted By Erin, The $5 Dinner Mom On January 3, 2014 @ 4:00 pm In Beans,Dairy Free,Gluten Free,Recipes,Slow Cooker | 7 Comments

Seriously, dinner doesn’t get any easier than this. This is what I call a “Chop, Dump and Run” kind of dinner. (And if you added carrots, it would be a one dish slow cooker dinner…my absolute favorite kind.)

This soup is sweet from the honey, with a touch of smoke, and a slight bite from the chili powder and cracked pepper.

You’re sure to love the soup, the flavor, the ease in preparing and the ease in cleaning up.

Also, if I ever were to write a feeding teenage boys on a budget cookbook…this recipe would go into the Beans Chapter. In fact, that book might only have 1 chapter…Rice and Beans recipes. That’s really how I plan to get through the teenage years with these boys of mine…lots of rice and beans, mixed in with some meat and ‘tater meals, along with a ton of homemade oatmeal. *sigh*

If, in a few years, I were to write that book, would you buy it?!

My Hurst Beans Recipes

Helpful Dried Beans Recipes

Slow Cooker Honey Ham and Bean Soup

Adapted from Honey Ham and Beans [13]

Yield – 4 servings

Preparation Time – 15 minutes

Cooking Time – 8 hours in slow cooker

Ingredients

  • 1 package Hurst HamBeens Slow Cooker Bacon and Beans (pictured above)
  • 1 ham bone (leftovers from the holidays?!)
  • 2 cups cubed or diced ham
  • 1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes with juices
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Side dish veggies

Directions

  • Place all the ingredients in the slow cooker and add 7 1/2 cups of water. Set the slow cooker on low and cook for 8 hours. (No presoaking of the beans necessary!)
  • Once cooked, let cool slightly before serving.
  • Prepare a veggie as a side dish, we had green beans.
  • {Optional – add 4 carrot sticks, peeled and chopped, into the slow cooker and make it a one dish dinner [14]!}
  • Serve Slow Cooker Honey Ham and Bean Soup with green beans or carrots, or whatever you have on hand.

Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

URL to article: http://www.5dollardinners.com/slow-cooker-honey-ham-and-bean-soup/

URLs in this post:

[1] in your inbox: http://www.5dollardinners.com/contact/subscribe-to-free-email-updates

[2] in your feed reader: http://feeds.feedblitz.com/5dinners

[3] follow the $5 Dinners adventures on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/5dollardinners

[4] Facebook too: http://www.facebook.com/5dollardinnersfans

[5] Cajun Turkey & Andouille Bean Soup: http://www.5dollardinners.com/cajun-turkey-andouille-bean-soup/

[6] 15 Bean Pot Pie: http://www.5dollardinners.com/bean-pot-pie-recipe/

[7] Spicy Calico 15 Beans: http://www.5dollardinners.com/spicy-calico-15-beans-side-dish-recipe/

[8] Rice and Pinto Beans with Andouille Sausage: http://www.5dollardinners.com/rice-and-pinto-beans/

[9] Spicy 15 Bean Chili: http://www.5dollardinners.com/spicy-15-bean-chili-hurst-beans/

[10] How to Cook Dried Beans: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2009/10/how-to-cook-dried-beans.html

[11] Rice and Beans Budget Recipes: http://www.5dollardinners.com/rice-and-beans-budget-recipes

[12] Rice and Beans Budget Pinterest Board: http://pinterest.com/5dollardinners/rice-and-beans-budget/

[13] Honey Ham and Beans: http://hurstbeans.com/recipes/292/Honey-Ham-and-Beans

[14] one dish dinner: http://www.onedishdinners.com

Copyright © 2011 $5 Dinners™. All rights reserved.