- Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™ - http://www.5dollardinners.com -

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Posted By Erin, The $5 Dinner Mom On May 14, 2010 @ 7:13 pm In | 154 Comments

So I’m into homemade.

Homemade Taco Seasoning, specifically.

Mostly because it’s better for you. You have control of what goes into your meals and your body. You decide how it will ultimately taste by adding a little of this or that to the meal.

But also because it’s cheaper. MUCH cheaper.

Take taco seasoning for example.  One of the little packets from the store costs are $1, maybe $.50 when on sale. It’s about 2 Tablespoons worth of taco seasoning…about enough for 1-2 pounds of meat or chicken.

I recently purchased spice bottles for $1.38 each.  (Similar spices are also on sale at CVS for $.88 every now and again.)  So I made up what will probably be enough taco seasoning for the entire year for somewhere between $5 and $6!

Now…to use this homemade taco seasoning…

Our Favorite Taco Seasoning Recipes

So here’s my “ratio recipe”…

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Yield – varies

Preparation Time – 5 minutes

Cooking Time – 0 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 part chili powder
  • 1 part ground cumin
  • 1 part garlic powder
  • 1 part onion powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 part crushed red pepper

Directions

  • Mix all the spices together and store in an airtight container. I store mine in the freezer!
  • Use sparingly. Or liberally!

Other Homemade Spice Mixes

Enjoy!


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

URL to article: http://www.5dollardinners.com/homemade-taco-seasoning/

URLs in this post:

[1] right into your inbox: http://www.5dollardinners.com/contact/get-emails

[2] get meal plans delivered to you each week: http://www.5dollarmealplan.com

[3] Burrito Cups: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2012/05/burrito-cups.html

[4] 15 Bean Enchiladas : http://www.5dollardinners.com/2012/01/15-bean-enchiladas-recipe-cajun-hurst-beans.html

[5] Chicken Fajita Melts: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/07/chicken-fajita-melts-friday-night-bite.html

[6] Chicken Enchilada Chili: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2010/10/chicken-enchilada-chili.html

[7] Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/10/erins-homemade-pumpkin-pie-spice.html

[8] Homemade Apple Pie Spice: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/10/homemade-apple-pie-spice.html

[9] Homemade Ranch Dressing Mix: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/04/homemade-ranch-dressing-mix.html

[10] Homemade Onion Soup Mix: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/06/homemade-onion-soup-mix-guest-recipe.html

Copyright © 2011 $5 Dinners™. All rights reserved.