- Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™ - http://www.5dollardinners.com -

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Posted By Erin, The $5 Dinner Mom On May 14, 2010 @ 7:13 pm In | 153 Comments


More from $5 Dinners on Pinterest [3]

So I’m into homemade.

Homemade Taco Seasoning, specifically.

Mostly because it’s better for you. You have control of what goes into your meals and your body. You decide how it will ultimately taste by adding a little of this or that to the meal.

But also because it’s cheaper. MUCH cheaper.

Take taco seasoning for example.  One of the little packets from the store costs are $1, maybe $.50 when on sale. It’s about 2 Tablespoons worth of taco seasoning…about enough for 1-2 pounds of meat or chicken.

I recently purchased spice bottles for $1.38 each.  (Similar spices are also on sale at CVS for $.88 every now and again.)  So I made up what will probably be enough taco seasoning for the entire year for somewhere between $5 and $6!

Now…to use this homemade taco seasoning…

Our Favorite Taco Seasoning Recipes

So here’s my “ratio recipe”…

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Yield – varies

Preparation Time – 5 minutes

Cooking Time – 0 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 part chili powder
  • 1 part ground cumin
  • 1 part garlic powder
  • 1 part onion powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 part crushed red pepper

Directions

  • Mix all the spices together and store in an airtight container. I store mine in the freezer!
  • Use sparingly. Or liberally!

Other Homemade Spice Mixes

Enjoy!

*********

Our new Favado grocery savings app [12] is now available! Get access to coupon matchups and store deals for all your favorite stores in your local area for free!  You’ll be able to compare prices across local stores, quickly find all the coupons that are available for the items that are on sale, build your shopping list around the hottest sales and best deals and more!

Sign up for a free Favado account [13] and then download for free in the iTunes store for iPhone or Google Play store for Android.


Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

URL to article: http://www.5dollardinners.com/homemade-taco-seasoning/

URLs in this post:

[1] right into your inbox: http://www.5dollardinners.com/contact/get-emails

[2] get meal plans delivered to you each week: http://www.5dollarmealplan.com

[3] More from $5 Dinners on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/5dollardinners

[4] Burrito Cups: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2012/05/burrito-cups.html

[5] 15 Bean Enchiladas : http://www.5dollardinners.com/2012/01/15-bean-enchiladas-recipe-cajun-hurst-beans.html

[6] Chicken Fajita Melts: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/07/chicken-fajita-melts-friday-night-bite.html

[7] Chicken Enchilada Chili: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2010/10/chicken-enchilada-chili.html

[8] Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/10/erins-homemade-pumpkin-pie-spice.html

[9] Homemade Apple Pie Spice: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/10/homemade-apple-pie-spice.html

[10] Homemade Ranch Dressing Mix: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/04/homemade-ranch-dressing-mix.html

[11] Homemade Onion Soup Mix: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/06/homemade-onion-soup-mix-guest-recipe.html

[12] Favado grocery savings app: http://www.5dollardinners.com/favado-grocery-savings-app/

[13] Sign up for a free Favado account: https://www.favado.com/signup/?publisherId=19

Copyright © 2011 $5 Dinners™. All rights reserved.