- Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™ - http://www.5dollardinners.com -

Healthy, Low Cost Lunch Ideas from Budget Dietitian

Posted By Dana S On August 18, 2011 @ 7:33 am In Fresh Fruit,Fresh Veggies,Kids in the Kitchen,Lunch | 11 Comments

As a registered dietitian, I want to send my soon-to-be first grader off to school with a healthy lunch. However, I know that if I don’t keep lunch interesting, all the healthy stuff will get traded for Oreos!

To help with packing, I am listing out healthy & budget friendly options for brown bag lunches. These options are also relatively easy; no carving a carrot into a swan!

Healthy, Low Cost Lunch Ideas

Entree Ideas:

Side Dishes:

  • Unsweetened Applesauce
  • Carrot Sticks or Shredded Carrots
  • Whole Fruit like Bananas, Apples, Oranges, Clementines, Pears, Plums, Peaches
  • Olives
  • Cut Veggies w/ Dip
  • Dried Cranberries, Apricots, Apples, or Raisins
  • 100% Fruit Leather
  • Fruit Salad
  • Raw Veggie Kabobs
  • Raw Fruit Kabobs
  • Pantry Trail Mix [20]
  • Cut Fruit w/ Yogurt Dip
  • Yogurt
  • Canned fruit in light syrup or fruit juice
  • Dried Fruit mixed with an Unsweetened Cereal (such as Cheerios or Rice Chex)
  • Side Salad w/ Favorite Dressing
  • Corn Salad [21]
  • Fruit Cut into Wedges such as Apples, Oranges, Peaches
  • Grapefruit Half
  • Homemade Granola Bars [22]
  • Secret Message Bananas [23]

Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

URL to article: http://www.5dollardinners.com/healthy-low-cost-lunch-ideas-from-budget-dietitian/

URLs in this post:

[1] right into your inbox: http://www.5dollardinners.com/contact/get-emails

[2] get meal plans delivered to you each week: http://www.5dollarmealplan.com

[3] classic pb&j : http://www.5dollardinners.com/lunchbox-freezer-cooking-peanut-butter-and-jelly-sandwiches/

[4] Homemade muffin: http://www.5dollardinners.com/31-days-of-school-lunchbox-ideas-day-31/

[5] Cold Pasta Salad: http://www.5dollardinners.com/danas-easy-pasta-salad-2/

[6] Hummus & Vegetable Wraps: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/08/veggie-and-hummus-wraps/

[7] Egg Salad Sandwiches: http://www.5dollardinners.com/zesty-egg-salad/

[8] Chickpea Tuna Salad: http://www.5dollardinners.com/chickpea-tuna-salad/

[9] Ants on a Log: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/ants-on-a-log/detail.aspx

[10] Asian Chicken Salad Wraps: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/06/asian-chicken-salad-wrap/

[11] Hummus w/ Whole Grain Pita: http://www.5dollardinners.com/healthy-super-bowl-snacks/

[12] Marinated Vegetable Pasta: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/06/danas-marinated-vegetable-pasta.html

[13] Couscous Salad: http://janetishungry.blogspot.com/2007/07/kristas-couscous-salad.html

[14] Peanut Butter & Banana Roll Up: http://www.5dollardinners.com/peanut-butter-bananadillas-school-snacks/

[15] Pita Pizzas: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/04/pita-pizzas/

[16] Cranberry Chicken Salad Sandwiches: http://www.5dollardinners.com/cranberry-chicken-salad-sandwiches/

[17] Asian Chicken Salad Wraps: http://www.5dollardinners.com/aleas-asian-chicken-salad-wraps/

[18] Greek Salad: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2010/11/frugal-fab-dinner-greek-salad/

[19] Caesar: http://www.5dollardinners.com/caesar-romaine-wedge-salad-grow-eat-ave/

[20] Pantry Trail Mix: http://www.5dollardinners.com/pantry-trail-mix/

[21] Corn Salad: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/07/danas-corn-salad-2.html

[22] Homemade Granola Bars: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/homemade-chewy-granola-bars-without-corn-syrup

[23] Secret Message Bananas: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/08/secret-message-bananas.html

Copyright © 2011 $5 Dinners™. All rights reserved.