- Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™ - http://www.5dollardinners.com -

Healthy, Low Cost Lunch Ideas from Budget Dietitian

Posted By Dana S On August 18, 2011 @ 7:33 am In Fresh Fruit,Fresh Veggies,Kids in the Kitchen,Lunch | 9 Comments

As a registered dietitian, I want to send my soon-to-be first grader off to school with a healthy lunch. However, I know that if I don’t keep lunch interesting, all the healthy stuff will get traded for Oreos!

To help with packing, I am listing out healthy & budget friendly options for brown bag lunches. These options are also relatively easy; no carving a carrot into a swan!

Healthy, Low Cost Lunch Ideas

Entree Ideas:

  • The classic pb&j as well as pb& honey sandwiches
  • Nitrate free lunchmeat & cheese sandwiches
  • Cottage cheese and fruit
  • Homemade muffin with a side of string cheese
  • Tic-Tac-Toe [3]
  • Cold Pasta Salad with veggies & cubed cheese
  • Hummus & Vegetable Wraps [4]
  • Egg Salad Sandwiches
  • Tuna Salad Sandwiches
  • Ants on a Log [5]
  • Celery filled w/ Cream Cheese dotted with Dried Cranberries
  • Asian Chicken Salad Wraps [6]
  • Hard Boiled Egg
  • Hummus w/ Whole Grain Pita & Carrots/Green Peppers to dip in it
  • Marinated Vegetable Pasta [7]
  • Cream Cheese & Sliced Strawberry Sandwich
  • Couscous Salad [8] w/ Leftover Chicken & Vegetables
  • Leftover Cubed Chicken w/ BBQ Sauce to dip in
  • Peanut Butter & Banana Roll Up
  • Pita Pizzas [9]
  • Fruit Roll-Up [10]
  • Chicken Salad
  • Babybel (or other cheese) and whole grain crackers
  • Chicken Kabobs w/ Peanut Sauce (or BBQ sauce for the less adventurous)
  • Entree Salad such as Greek Salad [11], Caesar
  • Cheese Sandwich
  • Fruit & Yogurt Parfait

Side Dishes:

  • Unsweetened Applesauce
  • Carrot Sticks or Shredded Carrots
  • Whole Fruit like Bananas, Apples, Oranges, Clementines, Pears, Plums, Peaches
  • Olives
  • Cut Veggies w/ Dip
  • Dried Cranberries, Apricots, Apples, or Raisins
  • 100% Fruit Leather
  • Fruit Salad
  • Raw Veggie Kabobs
  • Raw Fruit Kabobs
  • Trail Mix
  • Cut Fruit w/ Yogurt Dip
  • Yogurt
  • Canned fruit in light syrup or fruit juice
  • Dried Fruit mixed with an Unsweetened Cereal (such as Cheerios or Rice Chex)
  • Side Salad w/ Favorite Dressing
  • Corn Salad [12]
  • Fruit Cut into Wedges such as Apples, Oranges, Peaches
  • Grapefruit Half
  • Homemade Granola Bars [13]
  • Secret Message Bananas [14]

Article printed from Recipes, Printable Coupons | $5 Dinners™: http://www.5dollardinners.com

URL to article: http://www.5dollardinners.com/healthy-low-cost-lunch-ideas-from-budget-dietitian/

URLs in this post:

[1] right into your inbox: http://www.5dollardinners.com/contact/get-emails

[2] get meal plans delivered to you each week: http://www.5dollarmealplan.com

[3] Tic-Tac-Toe: http://www.parenting.com/gallery/how-to-make-a-tic-tac-toe-bento-lunch-box

[4] Hummus & Vegetable Wraps: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/08/veggie-and-hummus-wraps/

[5] Ants on a Log: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/ants-on-a-log/detail.aspx

[6] Asian Chicken Salad Wraps: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/06/asian-chicken-salad-wrap/

[7] Marinated Vegetable Pasta: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/06/danas-marinated-vegetable-pasta.html

[8] Couscous Salad: http://janetishungry.blogspot.com/2007/07/kristas-couscous-salad.html

[9] Pita Pizzas: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2011/04/pita-pizzas/

[10] Fruit Roll-Up: http://www.parenting.com/gallery/healthy-toddler-lunch-ideas?pnid=105040

[11] Greek Salad: http://www.budgetdietitian.com/2010/11/frugal-fab-dinner-greek-salad/

[12] Corn Salad: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/07/danas-corn-salad-2.html

[13] Homemade Granola Bars: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/homemade-chewy-granola-bars-without-corn-syrup

[14] Secret Message Bananas: http://www.5dollardinners.com/2011/08/secret-message-bananas.html

Copyright © 2011 $5 Dinners™. All rights reserved.